PBS "We Shall Remain": Spotlight on Sovereignty

American Experience (in association with NAPT)

The federal government today recognizes 562 Indian tribes as sovereign nations within the United States. Tribal members are citizens of the United States and subject to federal laws, but as sovereign nations, tribes have retained some rights to govern their own people. The limits of these rights are constantly being re-evaluated by federal courts. The Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe describes changing federal policies toward self-governance in the past 20 years...

Native Nations

American Experience (in association with NAPT). "Spotlight on Sovereignty." PBS "We Shall Remain" documentary series. January 8, 2009. Television, Radio and Film. (http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/weshallremain/native_now/sovereignty, accessed August 16, 2012)