Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes: Legislative Functions Excerpt



Section 1. Composition. The Legislative Branch shall be comprised of one Legislature. The Legislature shall consist of four Cheyenne Districts and four Arapaho Districts. Each Cheyenne District shall have one Cheyenne Legislator and each Arapaho District shall have one Arapaho Legislator, for a total of eight District Legislators. The Legislature shall select a Speaker from among its members.

Section 5. Powers. (a) Legislative power shall be vested in the Legislature. The Legislature shall have the power to make laws and resolutions in accordance with the Constitution which are necessary and proper for the good of the Tribes. All actions by the Legislature shall be embodied in a written law or resolution. All actions by the Legislature shall be made by a majority vote of the Legislators present unless otherwise specifically indicated by this Constitution. Tie votes in the Legislature shall be decided by the Governor. Laws and resolutions which have been enacted shall remain valid until amended or repealed. 


Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes. 2007. "Constitution of the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes." Concho, OK.

Related Resources

Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes: Terms of Office Excerpt

ARTICLE VI - LEGISLATIVE BRANCH Section 3. Terms. District Legislator's shall serve four year staggered terms of office. A Legislator shall be eligible to serve three consecutive terms under this Constitution. Upon the completion of the third consecutive term, the Legislator shall not be…

Rethinking Rewriting: Tribal Constitutional Amendment and Reform

This essay examines the recent wave of American Indian tribal constitutional change through the framework of subnational constitutional theory. When tribes rewrite their constitutions, they not only address internal tribal questions and communicate tribal values, but also engage with other…

Tribal Constitutions and Native Sovereignty

More than 565 Indigenous tribal governments exercise extensive sovereign and political powers within the United States today. Only about 230 of the native communities that created these governments, however, have chosen to adopt written constitutions to define and control the political powers of…