Huu-ay-aht First Nations Government Act


The Government Act sets out the legal framework for the Huu-ay-aht government which includes the following branches: the Legislature, Executive Council, the Ha’wiih Council, and the People’s Assembly.  

Native Nations

"Government Act." The Huu-ay-aht First Nations. British Columbia, Canada. ( accessed May 23, 2023)

Related Resources

Thumbnail or cover image
Huu-ay-aht First Nations Constitution

Location: British Columbia, Canada Population: 684 Date of Constitution: 2007


Angela Wesley, Chair of Huu-ay-aht Constitution Committee, discusses the painstaking effort the Huu-ay-aht First Nations undertook to develop a new constitution and system of governance, and how they continue to work to turn the promise of self-governance embodied in their new constitution into…


Angela Wesley, Chair of the Huu-ay-aht Constitution Committee, discusses the process that the Huu-ay-Aht First Nations followed in developing their own constitution and system of government. She describes how Huu-ay-aht's new governance system is fundamentally different from their old Indian Act…