Seneca Nation: Terms of Office Excerpt


SECTION I. Our government shall have a legislative, executive, and judiciary department. The legislative power shall be vested in a Council of sixteen members, who shall be known and called the Councillors of the Seneca Nation of Indians, eight Councillors elected to the Council shall be from the Cattaraugus Reservation, and eight Councillors elected to the Council shall be from the Allegany Reservation. Councillors shall be elected for four-year terms, except for the November, 1978 election. The staggered terms will be determined be the four Councillors having obtained the highest number of votes from the Allegany and Cattaraugus Reservations. The four Councillors, per reservation, with the least number of majority votes shall serve a two year term. No person shall be eligible for the office of Councillor unless he is an enrolled member of the Nation, has attained age twenty-one (21), and has resided on the Reservation he represents for at least one (1) year prior to the date on which he takes office.

Native Nations

Seneca Nation of Indians. 1848. "Constitution of the Seneca Nation of Indians of 1848, as amended." Salamanca, NY.

Related Resources

Thumbnail or cover image
Seneca Nation Constitution

Location: New York Population: 7800 Date of Constitution: 1848, as amended through 1993

Skokomish Indian Tribe: Terms of Office Excerpt

ARTICLE IV - TRIBAL COUNCIL Sec. 4.  Terms of Office Each Tribal Council member shall be elected for a term of four (4) years.  Terms of office for the seven (7) council members shall be staggered, two (2) members being elected each year for three (3) consecutive years and one (1) member…

Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes: Terms of Office Excerpt

ARTICLE VI - LEGISLATIVE BRANCH Section 3. Terms. District Legislator's shall serve four year staggered terms of office. A Legislator shall be eligible to serve three consecutive terms under this Constitution. Upon the completion of the third consecutive term, the Legislator shall not be…